2021…

Hi everyone, I hope you all have enjoyed your Christmas and/ or any other holiday you’ve celebrated over the last few weeks. With the New Year rapidly approaching, I’ve been thinking about sharing some highlights with you since once again, I’ve neglected my blog for months. So here are the top 5 things that have happened since my last blog post.

5. I started traveling again. When the pandemic began in 2020, I like many others, canceled trips I had booked with the uncertainty of knowing when I would be able to travel again. Now, if you know me, you know how much I enjoy traveling so I was devastated! In April of this year, I finally worked up enough courage to get back on a plane with Mama B and Jordy B to visit my family in NJ, and I have been NON STOP since! I went to Atlanta in May, Costa Rica in July, Maryland in August, back to Atlanta in September, Greenville, South Carolina in October and Trelawny, Jamaica earlier this month. I must say it’s been good to get back to doing what I love safely! If you haven’t felt comfortable traveling by plane, I completely understand. But please get back to doing at least one thing that you enjoyed doing BC (before COVID).

4. I invested in my health and got a CPAP machine. I know what you’re thinking; she’s not ashamed to tell people this. Nope, I would rather share and encourage someone than hide my reality. I was initially diagnosed with mild sleep apnea back in June 2015 and never followed up because I was in denial. One day, I was talking with a friend about my mom complaining about my snoring, and she encouraged me to get a sleep study. I quickly gave her 20 excuses as to why I didn’t want to and I didn’t need to. Shortly thereafter, I spoke with another friend who told me she also had sleep apnea and how much better her quality of sleep had been since getting a CPAP. Of course, I didn’t believe her. So I did some research, begrudgingly took a home sleep study, and found out that I now had moderate sleep apnea. When I received my results, I was angry but I’m not sure why. I already knew what the outcome would be but I guess I realized it got worse and not better (but so had my weight, so what should’ve I expected)?

After shedding some tears about what my new reality would be like, I invested in my health and a CPAP. LET ME TELL YOU! The quality of sleep I’m getting now makes me feel like I can conquer the world when I wake up in the morning. I feel more rested, I have more energy, I can focus more during the day, and I’m not as tired as I was in the past. I’ve taken it with me on my trips, and on the rare occasion when I didn’t use it, I noticed a difference the next day. I could be a spokesperson for CPAP’s because it’s changed my life! I still need to lose weight, of course, because that would help my sleep apnea, but in the meantime, I’m not leaving home without it. I say all of that to say, maybe you have some type of diagnosis that you’ve been struggling with, do some research, and invest in your health. Your body will thank you later!

3. I tried online dating again… it was a bust. I didn’t have the energy, and I didn’t feel like making the time for it. Believe it or not, being a single mom is a full-time job, so at one point, I had two full-time jobs and a part-time. Your girl was TIRED! I may try it again in the future, but as of right now, I’m good being single and occasionally ready to mingle!

2. I started investing in myself again and creating a healthy balance. During the beginning of the pandemic, I had a lot of time to reflect. I realized that since having Jordy B, I was in survival mode. I was trying to keep a roof over our heads to prevent us from having to move in with my parents. I neglected myself and was unable to do things for myself because I was so focused on making sure Jordy B had all of her needs met. Instead, I started to think about how to create balance for both of us and to be intentional about self care.

I also knew I needed more flexibility in my schedule, so I started to think about how I could create that. I no longer wanted to be committed to someone else’s business and have to sit at a desk from 8 to 5. I started my own business back in October 2020 and worked it part-time for a year. The earnings I made from it, I kept in a separate bank account, and used my full-time income primarily for all of my needs. When I began to be unhappy and my employer made it difficult to take time off, I knew it was time for me to make an exit, stage left.

I researched how to transition from my part-time to my full-time and made a plan and timeline as to when I wanted to take the leap. I worked hard, with little quality sleep, and I networked. I spoke to others who were already doing what I wanted to do and figured out how to apply some of that information to my business.

1. I quit my job in October 2021 and became fully self-employed. I’m here to tell you that it has been one of the best and hardest decisions I’ve had to make. But I’m not looking back, nor am I quitter. I’m determined to be successful no matter what! I hope this has encouraged you to start thinking about new goals for the new year ahead. I know with God’s grace and mercy, my latter will be greater than my former, and so will yours. Have a happy new year! Until next time….

Here are some more pictures from the last few months of the year!

Leave a comment